I’m back!

Okey-dokey-doodles… so did not mean to neglect Le Blog so long. Moving just has a way of completely sapping one’s energy. Or at least it does for me. But except for a small[ish] pile of boxes at the old house which are destined for the storage unit, I’m DONE! Woohoo! Done until I get a job and get to do this all over again in another month or two. Heh. At least it will be much easier. Most of the packing is done already!

Did y’all have a good Memorial Day weekend? I did, moving included! Saturday evening I joined Brenda and my friend E. at the Sunset Symphony downtown at a park right next to the [still very high] river. Between the three of us, we had an amazing picnic spread… Brenda even brought BRIE!!!! Cheese is definitely one of the fastest ways to my heart. Brenda had made this uh-MAZE-ing orange chocolate truffle cake and brought wine along. Side note: to my chagrin, when I turned 21 I had no taste for wine, but liked beer. I still rarely like wine. But I found one I like! Beringer’s white zinfandel.

Sunset SymphonyRock on, Instagram. Anyways, I had such a good time with Brenda and E. I knew they would enjoy each other and they did, of course! I love when two people who are special to me get to meet and enjoy each other. It’s like matchmaking but not with the danger of being Emma. However, I must say I was sadly disappointed in the music. The first 20-30 minutes were absolutely lovely; the symphony played lots of stirring favorites. But then they brought on some band to join them and it was just obnoxious! They played far too long, too loud, and it all sounded the same. I wanted my good music back! E. and I were not hesitant in whining about it. Finally, though… it was time for the 1812 Overture. I was SO excited – I’d never heard it performed outside and Brenda and E. told me they always do it with cannons and fireworks. At this point, one of Brenda’s friends and her roommate, both of whom actually usually play with the symphony, had joined us. When the music began we all were confused. We kept saying, “Yes, it’s the 1812… wait, no.” Well it was the 1812 but a stupid, jazzed-up version. With electric guitar. Now, I do love classical music but I can enjoy a fresh version (done well) of music. But not all music. Jazzy pop is just wrong for the 1812 Overture. It tells a story of triumph in overwhelming odds. The story was lost and turned into a joke by this version, in my obviously very humble opinion. AND THERE WERE NO CANNONS!!!!! What is wrong with tradition and the classics? Why must they be made “more accessible?” And frankly no one seemed particularly in to the music. I think people would have appreciated a traditional presentation of the 1812 overture.

Sigh. Sorry. End musical soapbox. I did actually have such a wonderful night. We even had some really deep conversation and sharing on the way home. At 11:30 pm. I am so blessed with amazing friends.

One thought on “I’m back!

  1. I had so much fun too!! 🙂 I still have the rest of the Brie. I thought I would have devoured it all by now, but apparently I still have some willpower.

Leave a Reply

