Autumn

Forever Young: 1908 via Shorpy

Have you heard of Shorpy? It’s a blog of high quality vintage photographs. Most are of very ordinary, day-to-day scenes. It’s such a cool glimpse into history! And yeah… this photo has nothing to do with Autumn, but it was one of the entries today and I love it. If I weren’t sure to subject my children to the trauma of being ridiculed for their dorky outfits, I think I might dress my future kids like this… love the bloused dresses with full skirts, the big hair bows… and the little boys – so dapper! I love the little one in a bonnet.

This morning was my third year to participate in the Mid-South Race for the Cure. This year was a little bittersweet; my first time to run in memory of my Grandma C, not in honor. She was a survivor for 47 years but passed away this past Winter. I also had plans to run with a pretty cool friend of mine, J. She was one of the amazing ladies with whom I traveled to Honduras this summer. Unfortunately the shuttles were slooooow and backed up, and I arrived on site literally as the first runners crossed the start lesson. I had to back track to get my timing chip kicked in (and then got confused because it was different than last year and so my time stunk because of trying to figure it out AND being stuck in the middle of walkers for the first 3/4 mile) but crossed the finish line soon after J. I’m a little bummed I didn’t get a proper start because it felt like my best yet… but oh, well. Anyway, I got to hang out with J., who not only is an 8-year survivor but today is also her 60th birthday!

Honored to run!

The rest of the day has been just a beautiful, perfect Autumn day. I had hot shower and long nap after the race (shall we say I did not sleep the proper length in prep for a race last night) and then my roomie M. and I went to Fresh Market for a tasting event… which was sadly underwhelming (except for the uh-MAZE-ing sea-bass). I mean underwhelming as in there were only a few sample stations – it was all delicious. However we did some research and discovered that Whole Foods has their Thanksgiving tasting event next week which M. says is wonderful. Yep. Free + Food = Exciting in our book! We also spent the afternoon taking our recycling to the collection center and then looking at beautiful clothing at Memphis’s poshest shopping center. Well, M. made some purchases, but as I remain sadly poor, I just browsed. Home again for Muddy’s cupcakes (I had Cinnamon Bun – NOM!) and tea while listening to a new favorite band!

New fav!

M. heard Page CXVI at her church recently and purchased their Hymns IV CD. I’m listening to the previous 3 Hymns albums on Spotify right now. So lovely… I am something of a traditionalist and will always love singing hymns heartily to the accompaniment of an organ, but I do really appreciate new arrangements. The Amazing Grace on Hymns IV is beautiful. And read what’s behind the band’s name:

The name comes from a reference to page 116 in our copy of The Magician’s Nephewby C.S. Lewis. It is a poignant passage where Aslan begins to sing Narnia into creation out of a black void.

It starts, “In the darkness something was happening at last. A voice had begun to sing. It was very far away and Digory found it hard to decide from what direction it was coming. Sometimes it seemed to come from all directions at once. Sometimes he almost thought it was coming out of the earth beneath them. Its lower notes were deep enough to be the voice of the earth herself. There were no words. There was hardly even a tune. But it was, beyond comparison, the most beautiful noise he had ever heard. It was so beautiful he could hardly bear it.”
~ C.S. Lewis

Beautiful.

I hope you’re having a lovely weekend! Stay warm up there in the snow, y’all Yankee Northerners! We Southerners will continue to enjoy our perfect, crisp, sunny Autumn weather!

xoxo
Alanna

One thought on “Autumn

  1. Thanks for the tip to the Page CXVI hymn arrangements. The best traditions are those that adjust and take new shapes in new circumstances without losing their roots and the underlying meaning and reason for observing them. I agree with you… hymns and their lyrics are rich and full. We never grow beyond needing to hear their message.

    PS. 2″ of snow last night. Warmth sounds good.

Leave a Reply

